Presentation

The Coastal Geoecology Center (CGEL) is part of UMR 6554 LETG .

Current research at CGEL focuses on coastal spatial structures and socio-ecological processes. Oscillating between three disciplines which are oceanology, geography and ecology, the programs and studies in progress deal in particular with risk management (flooding / erosion hazards, exposure, vulnerability) and connectivity between habitats.

villa5.jpg

Historical

It was in 1960 that the EPHE Geomorphology Laboratory moved to its current premises, at 15 boulevard de la mer in Dinard. Under the supervision of Francis Ruellan, he specializes in photogrammetry and the interpretation of stereoscopic terrestrial and aerial photographs (Japan, Brazil, Brittany).

In 1966, Fernand Verger was in turn appointed director and the laboratory thus became acquainted with the first satellite images. Remote sensing and cartography from aerial photography became the specialty of the Dinard team, particularly in the bay of Mont Saint-Michel.

In 1999, Marie-Françoise Courel took over the head of the laboratory. It broadens the coastal studies focused on the Norman-Breton Gulf to arid regions (Mauritania, Mali, Niger, etc.).

In 2012, the management of the laboratory fell to Samuel Etienne. Inscribing his work in a naturalistic tradition of physical geography, he studies the geomorphological dynamics of volcanic coasts (Ireland, Iceland, South Pacific).

Since 2019, the laboratory has changed its name. From now on, it is called: Center for Coastal Geoecology and is directed by Antoine Collin.

villa1959.jpg

Présentation

Le Centre de Géoécologie littorale (CGEL) fait partie de l'UMR 6554 LETG.

Les recherches menées actuellement au CGEL se concentrent sur les structures spatiales littorales et les processus socio-écologiques. Oscillant entre trois disciplines que sont l'océanologie, la géographie et l'écologie, les programmes et études en cours abordent notamment la gestion des risques (aléas submersion/érosion, exposition, vulnérabilité) et la connectivité entre les habitats.

villa5.jpg

Historique

C'est en 1960 que le Laboratoire de Géomorphologie de l'EPHE s'installe dans les locaux actuels, au 15 boulevard de la mer à Dinard. Sous la direction de Francis Ruellan, il se spécialise dans la photogrammétrie et l'interprétation de photographies stéréoscopiques terrestres et aériennes (Japon, Brésil, Bretagne).

En 1966, Fernand Verger est à son tour nommé directeur et le laboratoire fait ainsi connaissance avec les premières images satellites. La télédétection et la cartographie d'après photographie aériennes deviennent la spécialité de l'équipe dinardaise, notamment en baie du Mont Saint-Michel.

En 1999, Marie-Françoise Courel prend la tête du laboratoire. Elle élargit les études littorales concentrées sur le golfe normand-breton aux régions arides (Mauritanie, Mali, Niger, etc.).

En 2012, la direction du laboratoire revient à Samuel Etienne. Inscrivant ses travaux dans une tradition naturaliste de la géographie physique, il étudie les dynamiques géomorphologiques des littoraux volcaniques (Irlande, Islande, pacifique Sud).

Depuis 2019, le laboratoire a changé de nom. Désormais, il s'intitule : Centre de Géoécologie littorale et est dirigé par Antoine Collin.

villa1959.jpg