Programs

Socio-ecology of the French reef landscape in virtual reality | 2018-2020 : Coral reefs are home to 25% of marine biodiversity, and support some 500 million human beings (supply, regulation and culture). However, the reefs have undergone severe degradation in recent decades (global changes and local impacts), leading to a decline in ecosystem goods and services, which is accompanied by an increase in the inherent coastal risks.

Knowledge of the role of ecological functions as a support for human well-being requires a tangible identification of human-nature interactions within these complex systems. We propose here to map at high resolution (LiDAR and multispectral topobathymmetric imagery) the landscape organization of three socio-ecological reef systems in three oceans where France has overseas territories (Atlantic, Indian and Pacific). This high-resolution mapping will allow us to characterize the major human-environment interactions and to simulate their response to climate-oceanic changes during the 21st century through predictive modeling and virtual reality.

PB300045.JPG

REVE Cot - Virtual Reality and coastal cities: Appropriation of the hazard and exploration of the coast of tomorrow by virtual reality | 2018-2020 : Flooding processes constitute the most dangerous and costly form of natural risks but also the most varied (overflowing of yards, marine submersion, rapid floods, urban runoff, etc.). Some areas are particularly vulnerable because they are located at the point of convergence and interaction of various hydrological hazards which increase the risk. Coastal areas are obviously emblematic of these cross-risk areas. Coastal populations have most often settled at the outlet of the valleys because the latter are the only links between the sea and the interior. However, these topographically low areas are naturally sensitive to flooding from the sea and rivers. The Norman coastal towns are no exception to this observation and have already paid a heavy price (human and financial) in the past. This sensitivity to the hazard of continental and marine flooding is also likely to worsen in a context of climate change inducing, on the one hand, a rise in the average sea level which could reach or even exceed one meter in 2100, and on the other hand. part, possible punctual and more violent water offal, favorable to floods / floods. In many valleys of Normandy, these two hazards in land-sea contact are sometimes concomitant. Different types of hazards will be studied (marine submersion, overflowing of rivers, mudslides) and some form well behind the coastal zone and most often studied separately. The objective of this project is to bring together knowledge to answer common questions about the future of coastal cities. In these latter new challenges are imposed on the actors and decision makers who must coordinate these new environmental constraints, the complexity of the procedures of the development or the protection of the goods and the people, while maintaining the attractiveness of the territories. In this context, the social acceptance of projects becomes a fundamental issue which depends on the appropriation of knowledge by the actors of the territory, and therefore on the methods of disseminating it, and on the choice of potential projects. The importance of the flood hazard (marine and continental), and its possible worsening, leads to review management policies, in particular sometimes the relocation of goods and people.

This type of project requires a reflection co-constructed between scientists, decision-makers and the populations concerned, the starting point of which is the sharing of a culture of risk. This is why this project, which brings together scientists from various disciplines (physical sciences, natural sciences, humanities) aims to improve knowledge of the current marine and continental flood hazard, to study and map the '' evolution of these phenomena in the context of climate change and an induced rise in sea level (digital modeling), to disseminate the results of research to decision-makers, planners and populations using an innovative tool , virtual and augmented reality which will allow actors, on the one hand, to “experience or relive” the current hazards and those estimated in the context of climate change, and on the other hand, to walk in their landscape, even in their possible coastal city of tomorrow.

submersion_8_5.png
PB300011.JPG

This project addresses three major risks, coastal erosion, marine submersion and degradation of coral reefs, which are strongly influenced by climatic pressures (in particular by ocean / atmosphere interactions and by sea level rise ) and are therefore likely to worsen in the context of climate change, to the point of ultimately calling into question the habitability of atolls. It addresses these risks through an original approach based on the concepts of Chain of impacts and Vulnerability Trajectory. The reconstruction of Impact Chains and Vulnerability Trajectories for each case study, coupled with an in-depth study of physical and social conditions, translates the risks associated with current hazards and climate change into impact risk trajectories. territorialized. From there, the objective is to engage in a dialogue with local to national actors on future threats and risks, and on the means to face them (adaptation strategies).

Programmes

          Socio-écologie du paysage récifal français en réalité virtuelle 2018-2020 :  Les récifs coralliens abritent 25% de la biodiversité marine, et supportent quelques 500 millions d’êtres humains (approvisionnement, régulation et culture). Toutefois, les récifs ont subi une forte dégradation lors des dernières décennies (changements globaux et impacts locaux), entrainant un déclin des biens et services écosystémiques, qui s’accompagne d’une aggravation des risques littoraux inhérents.

La connaissance du rôle des fonctions écologiques comme support au bien être humain requiert une identification tangible des interactions Homme-nature au sein de ces systèmes complexes. Nous proposons ici de cartographier à haute résolution (LiDAR et imagerie multispectrale topobathymétrique) l’organisation paysagère de trois systèmes socio-écologiques  récifaux dans trois océans où la France possède des territoires d’outre-mer (Atlantique, Indien et Pacifique). Cette cartographie haute résolution nous permettra de caractériser les interactions Homme-environnement majeures et de simuler leur réponse aux changements climato-océaniques au cours du XXIème siècle par la modélisation prédictive et la réalité virtuelle.

PB300045.JPG

          REVE Cot - Réalité Virtuelle et villes côtières : Appropriation de l’aléa et exploration du littoral de demain par la réalité virtuelle | 2018-2020 :  Les processus inondation constituent la forme la plus dangereuse, la plus coûteuse des risques naturels mais également la plus variée (débordement de cours, submersions marines, crues rapides, ruissellements urbains…). Certains espaces sont particulièrement vulnérables car ils se situent au point de convergence et d’interaction de divers aléas hydrologiques qui démultiplient le risque. Les espaces côtiers sont évidemment emblématiques de ces zones à risques croisés. Les populations côtières se sont le plus souvent implantées au débouché des vallées car ces dernières sont les seuls liens entre la mer et l’intérieur des terres. Or, ces espaces topographiquement bas sont naturellement sensibles aux inondations par la mer et les cours d’eau. Les villes côtières normandes n’échappent pas à ce constat et ont déjà payé un lourd tribut (humain et financier) par le passé. Cette sensibilité à l’aléa inondation continentale et marine risque également de s’aggraver dans un contexte de changement climatique induisant, d’une part, une élévation du niveau moyen des mers qui pourrait atteindre voire dépasser le mètre en 2100, et d’autre part, de possibles abats d’eau ponctuels et plus violents, favorables aux crues/inondations. Dans de nombreuses vallées de Normandie, ces deux aléas au contact terre-mer sont parfois concomitants. Différents types d’aléas seront étudiés (submersion marine, débordement de cours d’eau, coulée de boue) et certains se forment bien en retrait de la zone côtière et le plus souvent étudiés de manière dissociée. L’objectif de ce projet est bien de faire converger les connaissances pour répondre à des questions communes sur le devenir des villes côtières. Dans ces dernières de nouveaux défis s’imposent aux acteurs et décideurs qui se doivent de coordonner ces contraintes environnementales nouvelles, la complexité des procédures de l’aménagement ou de la protection des biens et des personnes, tout en maintenant l’attractivité des territoires. Dans ce contexte, l’acceptation sociale des projets devient un enjeu fondamental qui dépend de l’appropriation de la connaissance par les acteurs du territoire, et donc des modalités de diffusion de cette dernière, et des choix de projets potentiels. L’importance de l’aléa inondation (marine et continentale), et de sa possible aggravation conduit à revoir les politiques de gestion, notamment parfois la relocalisation des biens et des personnes.

Ce type de projet impose une réflexion co-construite entre les scientifiques, les décideurs et les populations concernés, dont le point de départ est le partage d’une culture du risque. C’est pourquoi, ce projet qui rassemble des scientifiques issus de diverses disciplines (sciences physiques, sciences naturelles, sciences humaines) a pour objectifs d’améliorer la connaissance de l’aléa inondation marine et continentale actuel, d’étudier et de cartographier l’évolution de ces phénomènes dans le cadre d’un changement climatique et d’une élévation du niveau marin induite (modélisations numériques), de diffuser les résultats de la recherche auprès des décideurs, des aménageurs et des populations en faisant appel à un outil novateur, la réalité virtuelle et augmentée qui permettra aux acteurs, d’une part, de « vivre ou revivre » les aléas actuels et ceux estimés dans le cadre du changement climatique, et d’autre part, de se promener dans leur paysage, voire dans leur possible ville côtière de demain.

submersion_8_5.png
PB300011.JPG

Ce projet porte sur trois risques majeurs, l'érosion côtière, la submersion marine et la dégradation des récifs coralliens, qui sont fortement influencés par les pressions climatiques (en particulier par les interactions océan/atmosphère et par l'élévation du niveau de la mer) et sont de ce fait susceptibles de s’aggraver dans le contexte du changement climatique, au point de remettre en cause à terme l'habitabilité des atolls. Il aborde ces risques par une approche originale fondée sur les concepts de Chaîne d'impacts et de Trajectoire de vulnérabilité. La reconstruction de Chaînes d'impacts et de Trajectoires de vulnérabilité pour chaque cas d'étude, couplée à une étude approfondie des conditions physiques et sociales, permet de traduire les risques associés aux aléas actuels et au changement climatique en trajectoires de risques d'impacts territorialisées. A partir de là, l'objectif est d'engager un dialogue avec les acteurs locaux à nationaux sur les menaces et les risques futurs, et sur les moyens d'y faire face (stratégies d'adaptation).